Persépolis, dont les ruines magnifiques sont au pied de Kuh-e Rahmat (montagne de la Miséricorde) dans le sud-ouest de l’Iran, est l’un des plus importants sites archéologiques du monde.

Reconnue comme le joyau d’architecture de toutes les eres des persans (achéménides), aussi de l’urbanisme, de la technologie de la construction et des arts, la ville royale de Persépolis figure parmi les sites archéologiques sans équivalent et qui témoignent de manière unique d’une civilisation très ancienne.

L’immense terrasse de la ville a été commencée à construire vers 518 avant notre ère par Darius le Grand, roi de l’empire achéménide.

Sur cette terrasse, les rois successifs ont érigé une série de palais somptueux sur le plan architectural, parmi lesquels palais Apadana et la salle du trône («La salle aux cent colonnes») sont plus immenses.

Persépolis était le siège du gouvernement de l’empire achéménide, bien qu’il ait été conçu avant tout pour être un lieu de spectacle et un centre spectaculaire pour les réceptions et les festivals des rois et de leur empire.

La terrasse de Persépolis continue d’être, comme l’aurait souhaité son fondateur Darius, l’image de la monarchie achéménide, le sommet où les images du roi réapparaissent sans cesse, ici en tant que conquérant d’un monstre, y emportant son trône par son ennemi vaincu.

Inspirés par les modèles mésopotamiens, les rois achéménides Darius Ier (522-486 AEC), son fils Xerxès Ier (486-465 AEC) et son petit-fils, Artaxerxès Ier (465-424 AEC), construisirent un complexe immense avec une splendide terrasse semi-artificielle.

Cet ensemble d’approches majestueuses de 13 ha, d’escaliers monumentaux, de salles du trône (Apadana), de salles de réception et de ces dépendances est classé parmi les plus grands sites archéologiques du monde.

La terrasse est une création architecturale grandiose, avec son double escalier d’accès, ses murs couverts de relief sculptées à divers niveaux, ses propylées assyrianesques (porte monumentale), ses gigantesques taureaux ailés sculptés et ses vestiges de grandes salles.

En construisant soigneusement des toits plus légers et en utilisant des linteaux en bois, les architectes achéménides ont pu utiliser un nombre minimal de colonnes étonnamment fines pour soutenir les toits à aire ouverte.

Les colonnes étaient surmontées de chapiteaux élaborés; aussi des doubles taureaux majestueux est typique: là où deux taureaux agenouillés, posés dos à dos, reposent sur leur double volute, étendent leur cou et leur tête jumelées directement sous les intersections des poutres du plafond.

phpmyadmin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notre bulletin d'information

Our Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and get exlusive first minute offers straight into your inbox.

see iran now

Visit us on Social Networks

Close

Persépolis

Fill out the form to book the Tour. Required fields are marked *



Enquiry about the Tour availability or anything you’d like to know. Required fields are marked *

Persepolis, whose magnificent ruins rest at the foot of Kuh-e Rahmat (Mountain of Mercy) in south-western Iran, is among the world’s greatest archaeological sites.

Renowned as the gem of Achaemenid (Persian) ensembles in the fields of architecture, urban planning, construction technology, and art, the royal city of Persepolis ranks among the archaeological sites which have no equivalent and which bear unique witness to a most ancient civilization.

The city’s immense terrace was begun about 518 BCE by Darius the Great, the Achaemenid Empire’s king.

On this terrace, successive kings erected a series of architecturally stunning palatial buildings, among them the massive Apadana palace and the Throne Hall (“Hundred-Column Hall”).

Persepolis was the seat of government of the Achaemenid Empire, though it was designed primarily to be a showplace and spectacular centre for the receptions and festivals of the kings and their empire.

The terrace of Persepolis continues to be, as its founder Darius would have wished, the image of the Achaemenid monarchy itself, the summit where likenesses of the king reappear unceasingly, here as the conqueror of a monster, there carried on his throne by the downtrodden enemy, and where length.

Inspired by Mesopotamian models, the Achaemenid kings Darius I (522-486 BCE), his son Xerxes I (486-465 BCE), and his grandson Artaxerxes I (465-424 BCE) built a splendid palatial complex on an immense half-natural, half-artificial terrace.

This 13-ha ensemble of majestic approaches, monumental stairways, throne rooms (Apadana), reception rooms, and dependencies is classified among the world’s greatest archaeological sites.

The terrace is a grandiose architectural creation, with its double flight of access stairs, walls covered by sculpted friezes at various levels, contingent Assyrianesque propylaea (monumental gateway), gigantic sculpted winged bulls, and remains of large halls.

By carefully engineering lighter roofs and using wooden lintels, the Achaemenid architects were able to use a minimal number of astonishingly slender columns to support open area roofs.

Columns were topped with elaborate capitals; typical was the double-bull capital where, resting on double volutes, the forequarters of two kneeling bulls, placed back-to-back, extend their coupled necks and their twin heads directly under the intersections of the beams of the ceiling.

phpmyadmin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close

Persepolis

Fill out the form to book the Tour. Required fields are marked *



Enquiry about the Tour availability or anything you’d like to know. Required fields are marked *